Digging to Australia

digging_hole001

Hurray! I have won the Ad Hoc Fiction contest at the kazillionth time (approximately) of trying.

You can read it here, or alternatively I have pasted it below (because it’ll be shunted farther and farther down the Ad Hoc Fiction page as the weeks go by).

Hurray, again!

My little brother Danny has decided to dig a tunnel to Australia. He’s out in the yard now, toy spade in hand.

‘You can’t do that,’ I said. ‘It’s too far. Besides, it’s really hot in the middle of the Earth.’ He looks at me. ‘Even hotter than that time we went to Spain and dad got sunburnt and we spent that evening peeling the skin off his back.’ That’s a mistake. I’ve reminded him of something disgusting. He loves disgusting things.

‘I hope that happens to me,’ he says. I shrug and leave him to it.

Later I look outside. He’s gone. There’s just a massive hole. As I start to panic, the phone goes.

‘Hello?’ says a voice. ‘I’m calling from Melbourne. I’ve got your lad here. He’s fine, but, strewth, the skin ain’t half peeling off him.’

In the background, I can hear Danny giggling.

8 thoughts on “Digging to Australia

  1. Hi Dave, really good news! You will be pleased to hear that I did vote for your story, I was pretty sure it was yours when I saw it but it stood out as genuinely being one of the best entries that week so well done!
    Good luck with your entry for the bigger competition!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

